Saeed Jones | How We Fight for Our Lives with Clifford Thompson | What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man’s Blues

Saeed Jones | How We Fight for Our Lives with Clifford Thompson | What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man’s Blues

Saeed Jones is the author of the “hard and glaring and brilliant” (NPR Book Review) poetry collection Prelude to Bruise, winner of the 2015 Stonewall Book Award/Barbara Gittings Literature Award. He is also the co-host of BuzzFeed’s morning show AM to DM and was the website’s former LGBT editor. How We Fight for Our Lives is a memoir of Jones’s life as a young, black, gay man in the South searching for his place in the American landscape. 

The recipient of the Whiting Award for nonfiction, Clifford Thompson’s writing has appeared in a diverse array of publications, including the Washington Post, the Village Voice, and the Wall Street Journal. The author of an essay collection, Love for Sale, and a novel, Signifying Nothing, he teaches writing at New York University and Sarah Lawrence College. In the tradition of James Baldwin and Ta-Nehisi Coates, Thompson’s latest book is ruminates on race in America amidst the tumult of Trump’s America.

This event is Free. For more information, call (215) 567-4341 or click here

Event date: 
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 7:30pm
Event address: 
1901 Vine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19013
How We Fight for Our Lives: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501132735
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 8th, 2019

What It Is: Race, Family, and One Thinking Black Man's Blues Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781590519059
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Other Press - November 12th, 2019